Posts Tagged With: databases

Research 2.0: Facebook and EBSCOhost Databases!

With the new “bookmark this” feature in the EBSCOhost 2.0 interface, you can now post and link to your favorite EBSCOhost 2.0 database articles on your Facebook page! How cool is THAT?

Here is how:

1. Open the article you want in your favorite EBSCOhost 2.0 database.
2. Click on the “bookmark” icon/widget next to the persistent link to the article.

ebscohost20_bookmarklet
3. Choose the application you want (in this case, Facebook, but it also works great with del.icio.us!)

bookmarklet
4. The application will automatically contact your Facebook account (log in first before opening your database article), and it will post your article. You can copy and paste bibliographic info and/or the abstract into the little text box before you post to your Facebook account.

Research 2.0—I love it!

facebook_ebscohost

Buffy Hamilton, Media Specialist
Creekview High School

http://theunquietlibrary.wordpress.com

http://theunquietlibrarian.wordpress.com

Categories: Learning 2.0, library 2.0, research, Web 2.0 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Britannica Blog: What’s a Humbug and Other December “Oddments”

Have you checked out the Encyclopedia Britannica blog?  As you know, we have access to Encyclopedia Britannica via GALILEO.  What you may not know, though, is that Britannica has a blog that is free to everyone!  Blog posts covers a range of topics from culture, humor, education, sports, government, travel, and much more!  There are even blog posts on”Campaign 2008″!

The latest entry is called “What’s a Humbug and Other December Oddments” at http://blogs.britannica.com/blog/main/2007/12/of-hearts-smog-ho-ho-hos-brrrs-and-bugs-december-oddments/.  Take a look at this interesting and educational blog; you can even subscribe to the RSS feed for the blog and keep up with the latest entries in one of two ways:

Categories: Database Spotlight | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

JSTOR: Database Help Now Available on YouTube and Facebook!

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines. 

We are one of the very few public high school in Georgia with access to this college level database of scholarly articles.  If you would like a more contemporary tutorial on how to use JSTOR, check out these cool new Web 2.0 learning resources!  

Categories: Web 2.0 | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers