New: 2007-2008 Peach Book Nominees!

The purpose of the Georgia Peach Award is to highlight and promote the best current young adult literature for
Georgia high school age students, to encourage young adults to read and to promote the development of cooperative school and public library services for young adults.  The new list of 2007-08 nominees is out!  Nominees for the upcoming year include:

  • As Simple As Snow by Gregory Galloway
  • Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Bucking the Sarge by Christopher Paul Curtis
  • What Happened to Cass McBride? by Gail Giles
  • Code Orange by Caroline Cooney 
  • Dead Connection by Charlie Price
  • Everlost by Neal Shusterman
  • I’d Tell You But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  • Peeps by Scott Westerfeld
  • Runaways, Volume 1 by Brian Vaughan
  • Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie by David Lubar
  • The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
  • The Goodness Gene by Sonia Levitin
  • The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
  • The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett
  • The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty
  • Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
  • Raiders Night by Robert Cormier

We already have most of these books, and those of you who are regulars in the library can attest that this year’s list is chock full of must-reads!  We have a special display set up with these books, so come on by and check out the nominees!   If you want to participate in the state Peach Book blog, visit http://gpban.blogspot.com/ and give your feedback!

  

Categories: Book Musings | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “New: 2007-2008 Peach Book Nominees!

  1. Once again a great list of must-read books! I wonder which book will be the Georgia Peach Book this year; my guess is The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray or Elsewhere.

    I have read Bucking the Sarge. As in his other books, Curtis’ story shines with terrific humor as we learn about Luther’s situation as he tries to live his life, enter the Science fair, and try to get a girlfriend all while the Sarge (his mom) keeps him working to support her empire; that is until he decides to try ‘bucking the Sarge.”

    If you enjoyed Bud, Not Buddy or The Watsons Go to Birmingham (Curtis’ other books) when you were younger, be sure to read Bucking the Sarge!

  2. Hi there! I agree—I think The Haunting of Alaizabel Clay or Elsewhere will be the winner. I am really excited about the 2007-08 nominees as many of our students have given us great “buzz” about those books!

    I have not yet read Bucking the Sarge, but I absolutely adore Bud, Not Buddy and The Watsons Go to Birmingham! I will add Bucking the Sarge to my “must read” list!

    Do you have any predictions for frontrunners from the 2007-08 nominees list? Peeps, The Truth About Forever, The Year of Secret of Assignments, My Sister’s Keeper, and Twilight have been extremely popular here in our library this past year.

  3. Truth About Forever has girl appeal, especially since the release of the movie, How To Deal, which is based on another of Dessen’s books. The Year of Secret Assignments should be popular as well with the high school shenanigans. But, The Book Thief is supposed to be fantastic. I have it at home, but haven’t read it yet. Death narrates the story of a girl who steals books during the World War II era.

    Westerfield is a popular one with Uglies, Pretties, and Specials he is sure to have a following for Peeps.

    We have Dead Connection and it is a constant check out! I can’t even get my hands on it.

    So much to read…so little time.

  4. Vy Tran

    Hmm… I wonder what you are missing..
    What Happened to Cass McBride? by Gail Giles was the list on twice.
    Just curious…
    Anyways, thanks for the info. I haven’t read any..yet. But I’m looking forward. By the way, do you know about the Reading Bowl?

  5. Hi! Thank you for your eagle eyes! I have corrected the list to remove the duplicate title and to add the missing Robert Cormier title.

    And yes, we know about the Reading Bowl! In our zone, the middle school participates in the Reading Bowl.

  6. April P

    Hi! I am at Teasley with Kris. I am the Media Clerk. I have read Dead Connection and it was very good. I was excited that I have read a book before it was nominated! I would recommend this book in a heartbeat!

  7. Hi April! Thank you so much for your great recommendation! It IS exciting to read a book before it gets recognition, isn’t it?!?!

    Awesome to hear from you! 🙂 Buffy

  8. L

    Thank you so much for posting a list of these books, I am already reading “Code Orange” Which is fascinating and “Dead Connection” which is good too. I already have, “The Wee Free Men” as part of my book collection, but I have yet to read it, even though I love another of his novels “The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

