September Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Well, I am pleased to say that I am loving this whole reading thing! I never expected it to come so easily. What I love most about it is that reading gives me a whole other world to escape to. I can choose whatever world I want to by choosing a new book. So far, I give this challenge a double thumbs-up!

For the month of September, I chose to read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. A friend of mine practically demanded me to read it. I expected to hate the book entirely but I ended up absolutely LOVING it! The Hunger Games is a trail mix of adventure, action, suspense, and romance that is nearly impossible to put down.

The main character, Katniss Everdeen, lives in a time very far in the future. It is almost a postapocalyptic setting. I don’t want to give anything away, but basically The Hunger Games are set up by the country as a way to prove to the people that they are completely owned by the Capitol. Twenty-four teenagers are chosen at random and forced to fight to the death. Only one can win. The winner, along with his or her family, is given a lifetime of wealth, food, etc. Sounds ridiculous, right? Trust me, it isn’t what you think. I expected this novel to be overly gory and a complete waste of my time. On the contrary, Suzanne Collins has created a fun page-turner that will keep you on your toes.

What I am expecting is for this trilogy to become the next big Twilight kind of thing. It will probably be the next “biggest thing” and there will be movies, soundtracks, t-shirts, Oprah interviews, and possibly team-character underwear. Just a thought. I’d love you hear yours! Please comment and share what you think!!

Lauren

Categories: Student Guest Blog Posts | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “September Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. You are so right! I had a high school senior boy read the first one right away at the beginning of school. He just finished Mockingjay! So I had to read Hunger Games, he said. He hounded me until I took it home and I finished it over the weekend! Then I put it on the list for kiddos to vote for in our Lit Wit Group. It won hands down and we are anxiously waiting for our books to arrive.
    I am reading now “A Taste for Rabbit.” I believe that authors are envisioning what life might be like when government totally takes over our lives. Or are they trying to impress upon us how good we have it now?
    At any rate READ the “Hunger Games” and the following two books in the series. They are very good!

  2. cranbailey92

    Thank you! I have also done some thinking about what would happen if our government was run like Panem. Reading The Hunger Games has made very thankful for the type of government that we have in America.

  3. Sophie

    I LOVE THE HUNGER GAMES!!!!!!!!! I read all 3 books over Columbus Day weekend! I would finish one and pick up another. Total reading marathon! Anyone that hasn’t read The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and/or Mockingjay, read them all! Over half of my class has read it and LOVED it! I’ve had an exclamation point at the end of every sentence; you know it has to be good!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

