October Review: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

WOW! I can’t believe I’m already three months into my reading challenge! Except this month is different. I read and finished TWO books! I read Catching Fire (the sequel to The Hunger Games) and Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (an AP Lit. reading assignment). It was definitely a challenge for me, but I feel very accomplished in doing so. Catching Fire was awesome. Brave New World? That’s a different story.

The Hunger Games was great,  and I could hardly put it down, but Catching Fire had me turning pages faster than a race car! There were more twists and turns than I ever expected! There were so many times that I caught myself yelling at the characters. It’s a good thing I usually read in a quiet place where I’m all alone. When Peeta announced  love for Katniss in the first book, I was speechless. When he announced their “newest family addition” the second time around, I almost passed out. And when Gale told Katniss about District Twelve,  I was really annoyed that I couldn’t pick Mockingjay up and start reading. I am still on the waiting list for that by the way. I can’t believe the things that have taken place so far in Panem and I can’t wait to find out how the story ends.

So far, my favorite character is Gale. I love him! I also feel really bad for him because I know he loves Katniss, but she has become the center of a twisted love triangle. Katniss is actually one of my least favorites. Peeta is sweet, and I would feel bad for him if Katniss kicked him to the curb, but I think that Gale is so much better for her.

I can’t wait to keep reading!

~Lauren~

Categories: Student Guest Blog Posts, Teen Voices, YA Lit | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “October Review: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

  1. Sia

    Wait. What happened to Brave New World? I loved the Hunger Games and Catching Fire, and I’m just about to start Mockingjay. And I admit I’m in a totally different age bracket than yours (I’m 54), but in my youth I loved Brave New World, too. Tell me what you think about that book, and why it doesn’t seem to have captured your interest.

  2. cranbailey92

    Oh, well I apologize for not talking more about Brave New World. I didn’t hate the book. It wasn’t boring by any means, but I suppose that their are just a lot of things in the story that bother me as far as values go. And I personally think that the reason for it is that our society isn’t too far off from the World State. No, we aren’t under a world dictatorship and we aren’t raised in conditioning centers, but the values of many people today resemble the values of people in Brave New World. I am a very conservative person and a very spiritual person, and my values are very different then the majority of people in today’s society. I also don’t care for sad endings. John’s death was depressing and I feel as though it was unfair. He was just a guy who wanted a normal happy life but he was driven to insanity by people trying to force him to live a life that wasn’t meant for him. I also had high hopes for Bernard, but his character disappointed me. The further I read, the more selfish he became. All in all, Brave New World is not a terrible story.

    I think I also may just be a little tired of it seeing as we read it for a class assignment and we have been having a lot of discussions about it. So maybe my opinions are a bit tainted.

  3. Jessica

    I have finally found another Gale lover!! You don’t know how thrilled I am! Everyone I talk to wants Katniss to end up with Peeta. I have read Mockingjay and won’t say anything should someone read this comment that has yet to read the books, but I will say that Catching Fire is my favorite of the trilogy.🙂

    I actually found your site for a class assignment. I’m a middle school English teacher currently working towards my master’s so I can become a school librarian🙂 You should feel honored that your libary’s site is one that I’m suggested to review🙂

    • cranbailey92

      Awesome! Yes, I think that Peeta is a really sweet guy, but I think that Gale is so much better for Katniss. And I agree that our library is the best! Good luck on getting your master’s. I bet you will have a blast as a librarian.

  4. Laura

    Ok. I know this is obnoxious, but will you please change your “by Susan Collins” to “by Suzanne Collins?” I’ve only read Hunger Games, and just bought Catching Fire. I, too, am a Gale supporter, so I look forward to seeing what happens (had to skip your reviews).

    Went to the Internet Librarian Conference in Monterey, and you were so good. Thanks.

    • Laura, thanks for the kind words.

      I actually did not write this post–our student blogger did, and I will forward her comments for the correction to her.

      Best,
      Buffy

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

